Need Immediate Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MyOhFive

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI
I've driven tractor trailer for 5 years now, where retorques are the law, so I get em done. I have yet to see a properly torqued nut actually be loose when it comes time for a retorque.

How many miles between them doing the work and you bringing it back to them for this issue?

OP
OP
Tolson93

Tolson93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
1075 miles when I checked the odometer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hemihustlin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
I paid 681$... Four tires, mounting balancing and a protection plan. Then they told me to come back and get them retorqued .. I didn't and this happened so that's everything

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatal

Thats ********* man, im a mechanic in an independent garage and ive been changing wheels and what not since i was 14 or younger and ive never had a nut slack off. By hand, torque wrench, torque sticks or straight impact i always double and triple check everything because if its not my life or someone elses in danger when you lose a wheel on the highway, I would be fired for a comeback of this magnitude.
Also we dont do retorques, it goes on the first time and stays on.
But that has alot to do with what i said before, if there is corrosion on the rim/hub and you dont clean it before installing the wheel you are not doing your job properly and you greatly increase the chance of a comeback. Clients dont like to comeback, often they will go to another garage to get their problem fixed if they are not stubborn enough you come back and give you ****. Either way you just lost a customer.