New Belt...Squeal Came Back 2 Days Later

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jeb6294

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 - Hemi
When I test drove my '09 (Hemi) it was squealing so they were going to fix it. From the sound of it I thought it sounded more like a pulley than the belt. They took it in a week or so later and when I got it back it was quiet and the invoice said they replaced the belt. Oh well, I'm not a mechanic so maybe it was just the belt. About two days later the squeal started coming back to the point that it is just as bad, or maybe even a little worse, than before.

Any thoughts? I may just put up with it for another week and take it in and have them look at it again when I get the oil changed.

Just FYI, changing a belt and even a pulley and/or tensioner is something I could handle, but I wanted them to make sure it was fixed in case it ended up being something a lot more costly. Also FYI, I certainly know how to change the oil, but even though it was used, I get a free lifetime drivetrain warranty as long as it goes to them for service.

BlkRamRt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
Might be the tensioner pully.

WhiteExpress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I agree on tensioner pulley.

Pull the belt off, spin the pulleys, see what's making noise.

chrisb38002

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
^^What they said. Pull the belt and turn the tensioner pulley. If it feels rough or sounds funny, you should be able to tell if it's not right.
I also had the alternator bearing start making noise on my 03 after about 60K miles.

LovMyRam

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 QCSB Black Edition, 2014 RCSB.
Engine
Do these trucks have a Idler pulley as well? Not looking under my hood so I'm not sure.
Oh, 50th post...w00t!

OP
OP
J

jeb6294

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 - Hemi