Newbie Here!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Paul Perry

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummings 6.7 I6 Cummins Turbo Diesel
Thanks for the add. My wife and I just bought our first new Ram 2500 4x4 with the 6.7 Cummins. It’s our 1st Ram Bighorn, our 1st Diesel, and our first tall truck.

The first thing we did was put running boards on it (short wife), and we’re looking at a bed cover next and some KO2 Tires. We live where it really snows… Alaska.

I do have a question if anyone can lend some input: On our way back to our small town we noticed a light shinning from the ”cubby hole” above the glove box… it ended up being an “upper glove box” light and it will not latch thus staying open; it doesn’t latch at all. When I took it into the local dealer (we bought it in Anchorage 3 hours away) the local dealer said that it would be a month to get it in and they had to remove the entire dash to replace it. This is very concerning, but maybe pulling dashboards on new 200 mile trucks is okay. Thoughts?

Also, any thoughts on snow tires? I liked the K02 on my Expedition, and my son has Duratrax on his GMC Pickup. I’m just not sure the stock tires have the agressiveness for our snow loads.

Thanks in advance,

Paul

Bigs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI
Welcome aboard!

As for snow tires. Can't compare to Alaska but we get total crap here in the Ottawa/Gatineau valley. We pretty much go full snow tires here, with ice sipes and all for ice and snow traction. Sure a KO2 with the snow flake logo would work but no where as good as a dedicated snow tire.

rule18

Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 Rebel
Welcome to RamForum.

turkeybird56

Military Vet 1976-1996 Retired US Army
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year