No crank no start issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DodgeDakotaD150

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi all,

I am new here and hope I am asking this question in the correct place.

I am new to dodge ignition systems (GM Guy).

I purchased truck (84 D150 w/318) with previously “worked on” wiring.

I am experiencing a no spark situation.

The truck is becoming a mystery to me as far as the ignition system goes, because it seems to have a mixture of the lean burn components on it as well as seeming to miss some of the components I have seen the system to have. I know the truck ran at one point recently because I have video and I had the truck fire up when I first brought it home, but it sat some some time and now it is a no crank no start from the ignition and a crank no start from the starter relay.

I don’t have power coming back from the orange ignition wire (28) on the bulkhead connector. However I’m just trying to get it to fire off so I can figure out where I’m going with the truck.

The main concern I have is that I don’t understand how this thing is wired.

Battery has ground to block & firewall. I have added new ground from block to cab.

POS is wired to Batt on starter relay. As well as the small shunt ammeter wire on the batt terminal of the starter relay (I’m not sure if this is correct or not.)

Starter is new mini starter. 4 gauge wire from large post on starter to POS of battery.

Small brown wire to the SOL terminal of starter relay. Orange ignition wire (28 at bulkhead) is to the I terminal on the starter relay. And the dark green wire coming from the neutral safety switch (automatic) is going to the G terminal on the starter relay. I believe most of this is correct.

The distributor is a dual pickup distributor.