Ordering a new ram 1500. Total Noob. Help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rampilot89

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel
Hey Everyone. I'm coming over from the Audi world and plan on ordering a new 2020 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel tomorrow. Surprisingly I've never owned an American truck or bought a new vehicle before. I've always looked for deals on used etc...

I'm coming into this whole experience pretty limited. Any tips or suggestions on the new vehicle buying side? I'm planning on ordering a longhorn in the AM and am curious how getting more off MSRP works? I have 2 trade in vehicles but am curious during the negotiations how I can get them to discount. I will visit a few dealers to see who will give me the best pricing.

Your thoughts and opinions are appreciated!

micko24

Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Ram 1500
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Try to secure the dealership discount... at least $7-8k.
You can’t ask the dealer for rebates because it changes on the month that you will be taking the truck in possession... so, as for now... ask for dealer discounts... then rebates when your truck arrives. Just makes sure don’t combine the two... ask for dealer discount right off the bat. As for your trades... don’t mention it until your truck arrives and your rebates are secured. Then negotiate the trade. Hope that helps.

NorthStar1

Reaction score
Ram Year
2020 Ram 1500 Big Horn/Lone Star 4x2 Crew
Engine
Hemi 5.7 eTorque