Please Help 5.7 misfire with Hemi Tick p0301

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

StephenM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I have a 2010 1500 5.7 I’m new to this forum

it has a rough idle and runs poor, when coming to a stop the rpms bog out like it wants to stall but corrects it self. It has a “tick” sound. It wasn’t throwing codes and just yesterday it did and got p0301 misfire cylinder 1

I went over it today and found 2 (so far) broken exhaust manifold bolts that hold the cover on. Doing a little research on here I see that could be the cause of the TIcking

My question is, with the 2 broken manifold bolts would that cause a rough idle and be the cause of p0301 misfire cylinder 1?

I’m fairly new to the hemis so any help would be appreciated

jws123

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Broken manifold bolts wont cause a misfire on 1 cylinder how many miles on it? replace coil they are cheap and check fuel injector if that doesn't solve it time for a camshaft unfortunately. Also a video of it running helps alot sometimes if you can get one.

PoMansRam

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi
How many miles on it?

If it's an all original soon to be 12yr/old hemi, it's probably been through a few exhaust manifold bolts and like said above, is probably in need of a cam and lifters, or a whole new engine depending on overall condition.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
Cam Lob is wiped, if you fix it come back and learn about lubrication strategies. If you work on your own vehicles we do have good dyi installs on cams, but it is no cake walk.

OP
OP
StephenM

StephenM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Thank you for the helpful insight. It has a 159k on her. I will go ahead and swap coils and see if the misfire follows the swap and then do the fuel injector like you mention.