Power fold, or Tow mirrors?

What should I do?

• Fix/Replace tow mirror myself, Sell power fold mirros

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Put on power fold mirrors (unsure what happens to tow mirrors after that)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Glowrdr

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Newbie here. Just finished a purchase agreement that I will be finalizing tomorrow. Trading in my '11 1500 Laramie and getting a '14 2500 Laramie w/ the 6.4 Hemi.

During the walkthrough, I discovered the passenger side tow mirror seems to function erratically. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Dealer said no problem, they'll take care of it.

Couple hours later, said dealer calls back and says they are the wrong mirrors for the truck. I've seen the build sheet, so I know they optioned up for the tow mirrors. Long story short, their "fix" for my mirror problem is to order the "correct" mirrors for the truck. The power fold non tow ones.

They gave me the option of 1) swapping the mirrors when they arrive to fix the issue, or 2) if I want the tow mirrors, they will just hand over the OEM power folds, and I can figure out the problem with the tow mirrors myself. There is a 3rd option - I tell them the tow mirrors were on the build sheet, are the correct ones, so order me a new passenger side tow mirror (least favorite of my options though)

I'm guessing its just a loose connection, because the mirror does work. Just not all of the time. Do I keep the tow mirrors on there, or should I just tell the dealer to put the power folds on? I actually thought the truck came with power fold tow mirrors, so I was disappointed to find out otherwise. I've never towed before, but am planning to buy a travel trailer this spring.