1 quart down after 3k miles

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cc rider

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
What's up guys. Just changed my oil. Roughly 3400 miles. I was down almost a quart. Is this a concern, or normal cause of break in? The oil looked good ( Brown just like the new stuff). I have never used synthetic before. The Pennzoil is pretty darkish Brown to me straight outta the bottle. Didn't see any bad stuff ( particles, metal, etc) . Replaced with Pennzoil 0w 40 and a purolator synthetic filter :) it took a full 7 quarts and it's back at mark that it should be at. I have been doing some heavy pulling ( pun intended) with my toy hauler since about 1000 miles. Probably took about 6 trips or 7 so far. I'm assuming it's normal. I just checked a couple weeks ago and the level looked ok though.

sbarron

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
Pretty normal during break in, especially if towing hard. Keep an eye on it for the next several thousand. My money says consumption will slow.

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Yeah, check it again prior to the next change.

I know what MOPAR says but there's no way in heck I am gonna wait that long for an oil change, synthetic or not.

OP
OP
C

cc rider

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Agreed. 5k from now on here. Idk though, they are saying what 8k?, hmmm......

Yeah, check it again prior to the next change.

I know what MOPAR says but there's no way in heck I am gonna wait that long for an oil change, synthetic or not.

spiG

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
CTD