3.6l rocker arm tapping noise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ricardo Martinez

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi you all this is my first time doing anything like this. I need some advice what do next.
I got a Ram 2016 3.6L with 44105 miles that I could hear rocker arm tapping. Took my truck to the dealership the first chance I had.
They replaced 2 rocker arm 1 lifter and the intake cam right side #5 cylinder. They wanted to change the oil but I said that I could change it at home with full synthetic oil (Mobil1) for the price they would do it for.
I got home change the oil and found a lot of metal particles in the oil. I did call Dodge customer service and created case number.
I’m here asking what should I do if anything.
Thanks in advance.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
That could be normal, and smart you did it yourself. What I would do for sure is keep changing it yourself. Also if you want to find out the source of the metal flakes you can send a sample of the oil to blackstone labs if you still have some, if might show you it was just metal from the new lifter. You also might want to use a zinc additive or break in oil.

PoMansRam

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi
Sorry about your issues! I haven't heard of this one with the Pentastar. I assume they had to pull the motor for this repair? Unless there's a way to secure the cam sprockets during the cam replacement.

Metal in the filter would concern me due to the fact the filter is downstream of the oil pump. Any particles had to get sucked up through the pick up screen, run through the pump, then get deposited into the filter. This doesn't mean the motor is toast though..

I'd do a few short succession oil changes, document with pics and save the filters if they're still glittery.

Keep us posted!

Burla

Military