48RE Shift Issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RonG

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 5.9 Diesel
For quite a long time, my 2005 Ram 3500 (Cummins diesel, rear wheel drive, SLT) had been very difficult to get out of Park. I studied "YouTube University", as well as some of the online Forums and decided to put in the "Detent repair kit" from TransGo to correct the issue. What should have been much less than , oh, two hours ended up over two weeks due to way too many irons in the fire and snafoos; but finally got everything back together and fluid added as of yesterday. The TransGo kit did exactly what it claimed to and I can't believe how easily my truck shifts out of park now.

Here are a few things I learned along the process way:

1. Adding a drain plug to your transmission pan is a blessing if you go into your tranny more than once in your lifetime. Just saying. I use Dorman #65128 (pic #1), and I got mine for under $7 from NAPA Auto Parts. Actually, I learned this little tidbit decades ago. When you install the drain plug kit, a simple whack or two with a hammer and center punch to the bolt threads will ensure that the interior nut will never loosen and fall off in the pan. Also, use a wrench to hold the outer bolt tight when removing the plug. I always put the drain on the rear side of the pan so as to be less susceptible to being hit or damaged. I have seen folks use a self-tapping "roofing" type screw/bolt with a rubber washer to add a makeshift drain plug to a transmission pan. Even though some swear they have no leaks from this DIY fix, I don't consider it the best option available.