5.9l Misfiring

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Nysm1

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Ok, first things first, I'm a mechanic by trade and have literally ran through every test and wiring diagram imaginable. So my 1997 Ram 1500 has been having a low idle misfire for quite a while. If my foot is on the accelerator the misfire is gone, but as soon as I'm at idle it starts up again. Thats nothing weird for these trucks, but what is weird is that its never the same cylinder that is misfiring. I have run through all the wiring, changed the ENTIRE fuel system, changed pickup coil, ignition coil, run leakdown tests, compression tests. I've done EVERYTHING that I could imagine EXCEPT change the heads, motor, or PCM. I'm here asking for help because this truck is worth the effort, but I'm stuck. What could I be overlooking?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
On my 2001 5.9, I had several exhaust seats that were sunk into the head. It would give an intermittent idle miss - the exhaust valve wouldn't seat every time. Still had good normal throttle power.

Was very hard to track down, I just knew it wasn't anything else at that point and figured it had to be in the heads - didn't even spot the problem when I first took the heads off. Didn't actually see it until I pulled the valves out.

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Some Amsoil power foam or Mopar Combustion Chamber Cleaner could do some good or even just drive it a little bit and when it's warmed up, get on it. Do some high throttle runs or take it on 10 mile highway run with overdrive off. Good way to burn out any carbon.

The other things to check are the wire crossing tsb and coolant temp sensor can be a finicky ***** particularly on those 96/97 trucks.

What kind of plugs are being used?

OP
OP
N

Nysm1