Any concerns about running Redline 5w30 in the winter time?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Crusader556

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Longhorn
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I have been running PUP 5w20 on my 2014 Longhorn since I got used in 2016 with about 26k miles and it has 58k miles now.

It has the 5.7 Hemi and after reading about lifter/cam issues I want to ensure long engine life since I plan to keep it for as long as possible. At this time I have no engine issues. It is running perfectly and I want to keep it that way.

I have an oil change coming up in mid August and I am planning on switching to Redline 5w30. It's still the middle of summer but this coming oil change will probably see me through the next winter. The oil filter I will be using is the Puralator BOSS PBL12222. I've had great luck with it so I will probably stick with it for now.

I just wanted to check in here and see if there is anything I should be concerned about with running Redline 5w30 during the winter time. I am probably over thinking it but I just want to make sure it won't make things worse on the lifter bearings than sticking with PUP 5w20.

Thanks!

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
Cold Piston Slap is a possibility, 0w30 redline has been proven better at deviating this, depending on how it goes you may need to consider 0w20. I say the 0w30 is the way to go as one of our main guys testing this from day one who has hemi tick, has had great results with 0w30 redline.

Now, if you don't have any tick, I wouldn't worry too much. I would suggest doing your own oil change and look for metal, and send off for a uoa. This would let you know how that engine is wearing. If you have no tick, you may even want to just run 5w20 redline, especially in winter.

OP
OP
Crusader556

Crusader556

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Longhorn