Camswap recommendations

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CunningStunt

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi 4X4 Crew White/Chrome
Since it appears I have a bad lifter and will probbably be doing a camswap pretty soon, I need recommendations based on the following:

2014 Ram Crew 4x4 BigH, 2.8 bils, the rest stock. 140k miles

Still owe 8k and no warranty

I will be doing work myself - I am not an auto mechanic but have an engineering technology background and am very detail oriented - I will actually be using the camswap guide from this forum to write up a SOP with step by step instructions including a reassembly torque checklist - which I will post for all you badasses to give feedback/corrections before starting.

This is my daily driver, has no performance mods, will rarely be towing other than a few times a year.

Ultimate goal is to never have to do this job again and get as many miles as possible out of this truck

A little HP/TQ boost would be nice if the price delta is reasonable

What cam kit would you guys recommend based on the above. I thank you all kindly, this forum has been quite the resource for me and I appreciate the sharing of knowledge that this forum promotes.

I have looked at Moe's and Jay but am torn as to which kit fits my needs - I am no racing gearhead but when in rome...why not get a little perform. boost if its reasonable.

THoughts? Thanks again Forum folks! I truly appreciate any feedback/help!!

OP
OP
CunningStunt

CunningStunt

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Are you running a tuner? Do you want to keep mds?

It is my understanding that MDS *may be part of the problem so I will do a delete and am not apposed to a tuner although I do not plan on doing headers/throttle body and all that jazz.

Brandon-w

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Ram 1500
Engine