Do I need four corner air suspension for towing?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MOT5Deep

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4L Hemi V8
Total noob here, and I've tried researching this topic but would appreciate advice. I'm looking at 2019 and 2020 1500 Rebels and plan to use it occasionally for towing a lite travel trailer (<7000lbs). Finding one with four corner air suspension has been rather difficult, and from what I've been told air suspension is almost a must for heavy-ish towing. The salesman at the dealership told me that 4 corner air suspension would not be ideal for towing since it would be too soft, and the air suspension is more designed for off-roading. He said there are self leveling airbags in the rear of the 1500 Rebel that make it more ideal and stable for towing. Of course he's a salesman, so I'm skeptical because they're trying to close a deal. Does anyone have advice on this particular issue? Thank you in advance.

Michael

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Air suspension isn’t necessary for towing. You can get the truck you want. With a properly set up wdh you should be fine. If after towing you feel that you could use some more help in the rear with the trailer you could get some tuftruck springs or some bag on frame air bags for the rear of the truck.

14hemiexpress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4l