Do you guys think all Gen 3 5.7L Hemi engines are doomed for lifter/cam failure?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Crusader556

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Longhorn
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am asking because I currently have a 2014 Ram 1500 Longhorn that I really like and would like to keep a long time if possible.

Currently it's not my daily driver so it only has 60K miles but that may change because I will be giving my daily driver to my yougest when he starts driving this year.

I have been using PUP 5w20 since I got it in 2016 and on my last oil change, before it hit 60k, I started adding Lubegard. I plan to use PUP/Lubegard on all future oil changes but I have to admit I am still very paranoid about my lifters failing.

At this point my truck has been flawless and runs great. The main reason I started adding Lubegard is in hopes of preventing the lifter issues. Hopefully it will help.

I was going to do a Blackstone UOA but got distracted and forgot I had the kit the last time I changed my oil. So I will have to get it done on the next Oil change.

I would like to get over 200k miles out of this truck if possible but after reading about all the lifter failures I feel like it can happen at any time. What really got me was a coworker with a 2015 Laramie just got diagnosed with lifter failure. His truck is newer than mine but had about 10K more mileage. His truck was also flawless up until it started knocking. I know he was using PUP 5w20 as well but I do not believe he was adding Lubegard.

I am just concerned my lifters will fail once I start using my truck as daily driver. LOL

So, am I over thinking this or is it time to jump ship and trade my truck in while it's still it great working condition?

ramffml

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7