First time Ram buyer--6 vs. 8 speed? Other things to consider?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DJMunrocked

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm eyeing a 2018 Laramie 2500 Hemi with the 66RFE. I'm a total rookie when it comes to Rams, and the Hemi 6.4 seem very hard to find right now, so I'm trying to learn fast so I can act.

It has 3.73 axle ratio and I'll be using the truck primarily for weekend trips pulling a 5000 lb 25' travel trailer.

I've driven a '19 with an 8 speed and it was great. How does this 6-speed tranny stack up? It won't be my daily driver. I'll just be pulling a 25' trailer on occasion.

Anything else I should check for before pulling the trigger? I'm just trying to buy it with eyes open.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Jeepwalker

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Reg Cab, 4x4
Engine
5.7 Hemi
How many miles a year ...do you estimate? Are you talking about a travel trailer, open car trailer, or towing heavy equipment ...a lot?

Most guys rave about the 8-spd. But if yer not planning to drive a ton of miles, or they're local and less highway, it probably doesn't matter which trans. The RFE tranny's have been used for years (decades??), if you find a good deal, they're plenty tough. I have the RFE in my tk. Yeah it often chugs before dropping down a gear, but the nuances are liveable. I just know when to kick it down (almost instinctively now), and its a non-issue. But then again, mine is geared more for the hwy. Might be a non-issue with a higher ratio. But you should drive one around a while and see what you think. Take it home and hook your trailer up. Hold out for an 8-spd if that's what you want.

Find out the axle ratio of whatever tk you're looking at ..and make sure it'll work fine for your towing needs. You can always plug the vin into chrysler's website, or call a dealer service department (or maybe parts dept too).