From Jeep Gal to Truck - Towing a TT Across the US

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Amazonica

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Hi! I just purchased a new 2019 Ram Rebel 1500. I am new to pickup trucks and pretty new to towing so I'm turning to you all for your experience. :)

I've driven Wranglers for 30 years. Picked up a small Travel Trailer in November of 2019 and have been traveling fulltime around the US with my little girl (fur baby). Towing with the Wrangler was...let's say "interesting" especially since I had never towed, hooked up, or backed a trailer before. I was towing at the Jeep's 3500lb max and decided I wanted a larger safety margin. So I got the Rebel.

I love the power and tow features. I have the Factory Tow Pacakge (Class IV Receiver, Brake Controller, Tow Mode, etc). 3.92 gears, 4x4 Crew Cab, 5.7L Hemi, 8 spd auto trans. This truck pulls my TT like it's not even there! A far cry from the Wrangler. Not disparaging Wranglers at all - I will always be a Jeep Gal at heart. I've done Offroading (5+ rated trails in Moab, Jeep Dirt-N-Drive, etc) and have a basic understanding of lockers, lifts, gear ratios, all the 'good' stuff.

I'm looking to get a locking tonneau bed cover, and add power (12V or 110V) to the bed. Also need to figure out the perfect drawbar length and drop, and a way to be able to lower the tailgate when coupled to the TT.

I appreciate polite comments and constructive criticism. And when I say "guys" that includes any gender. I'm not easily offended.

GoDawgs65

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Welcome! can't give much towing advise unfortunately. looks nice! Enjoy

dhay13

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
2500 6.4L Hemi 4.10's 'Off-Road'