Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pedal commander error and check engine light

Discussion in 'Engine & Performance' started by noupf, Jan 1, 2018.

Sponsored By: Moe's Performance
  1. noupf

    noupf Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    596
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2015 CC Sport 6'4 Bed
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    So, I've had the PC on my 2015 Ram Sport for a few months now and I received the "service throttle sensor" ( or what ever it exactly says ) the other evening as i was trying to start my truck.

    I'll preface my story with the fact that it was a cold snowy morning with about 2 inches of snow on the roads. The temp outside was about 18 degrees. As I was driving down the road, i let off the gas and dropped all the way down to CITY -4, to keep the throttle response as low as possible ( normally I drive in CITY 0 ).

    I drove to work, shut it off and went inside. During my dinner break, i used the remote start to warm up the truck ( now it was about 10 degrees out ) and drove off. Came back from dinner and went back inside. All was well

    Now....at 9pm, as i was exiting the building i tried the remote start and nothing. Tried again, nothing. I got to the truck and noticed "remote start disabled". When I got in and started the truck, i had the "service throttle sensor" on my screen and a check engine light. I shut off the truck and started it a couple more times and still had the message and CEL. When i pressed the gas pedal, nothing happened.........sort of. The rpms ever so slowly would increase, but did not decrease and it was barely noticeable if you weren't looking for it.

    At this point, i got out of the truck and tried to completely unplug and remove the PC, but i couldnt get the god damn PC plug off the gas pedal. I was able to unplug the other portion of the Y splice, but no matter how hard i tried, i couldnt for the life of me get the plug off of the gas pedal. Anyhow, I ended up just plugging the other porting of the Y split back together to see if it would fix the issue. I started the truck and the "service throttle sensor" message was gone, but the check engine light remained. The gas pedal when depressed seems to rev as it should, so I ended up going home cautiously, used my OBD II to read the codes and most were voltage related. there was another code related to the throttle sensor, but it wasnt voltage related and I forgot to save it.

    Not a very good experience to have to be honest.......and yes, the plugs were all seated properly prior to the issue happening and the cables were not in a position where my foot or anything like that would have tugged, pulled or disrupted the connections.


    Thoughts???
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
  2. Ramm5.7

    Ramm5.7 Senior Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    4,264
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ram Year:
    2019 Ram 1500 Bighorn
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    It must not of liked the city minus 4 setting! Iv heard of throttle codes in eco so maybe dropping into tje negative settings on city triggered throttle code
     
    Lyle Longboat likes this.
  3. noupf

    noupf Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    596
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2015 CC Sport 6'4 Bed
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    i thought the same thing, but by default, city -4 should still be ever so slightly above the stock setting. I too heard about eco errors, but again, city -4 should still be above the stock voltage setting no?

    also, i have driven around for days on end in city -1 and -2 as well and never had an issue. I just recently decided i like city 0. The day this occurred is the first time ive gone below city -2.

    Dont forget, i did have two on/off driving cycles in city -4 that night before the third one brought up the error messsages
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
  4. Wahrsuul

    Wahrsuul Senior Member Military

    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    1,968
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Central S.C.
    Ram Year:
    2009
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I've had my PC in Eco and Eco -4 for the last 2 tanks, and no codes. But then mine's an 09. Seems some trucks are more sensitive to it.
     
  5. Casper

    Casper U.S. Navy (Ret.) Military

    Posts:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    5.7L
    Did you disconnect the battery after getting the CEL? See what codes re-appear with a reboot.
     
  6. Ratket

    Ratket Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona-
    Ram Year:
    2018 1500
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I would be concerned with not being able to get the connector apart. You never know, something could have happened and that connector got hot and melted ever so slightly together and that’s why you can’t get it apart. Some thing to consider. Also the “adjusted voltage” on that low of a setting coupled with the cold weather could have triggered the codes. Keep in mind how finicky these these trucks are in regardes to the batteries being 100% healthy.
     
  7. noupf

    noupf Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    596
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2015 CC Sport 6'4 Bed
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    I used my OBD II scanner and cleared the codes when i got home that night. Currently riding around in city 0 and no issues over the last two days.
     
    Lyle Longboat likes this.
  8. noupf

    noupf Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    596
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2015 CC Sport 6'4 Bed
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi

    agreed on both accounts. I need to crawl in there again and see if I can get that clip off. It seems to wiggle, i just cant get it to pop off.
     
  9. mohemipar

    mohemipar Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ram Year:
    2017 Laramie
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi, 4.10's
    Let us know what happens.


    I have always kept mine in sport +2 since I put it on and haven’t had any issues. Have never changed it. I haven’t found my truck to be difficult to drive in the snow. Which is good because I would not want to fiddle with the settings on a regular basis. I would get paranoid. I suppose with the weight of the HD and some bigger tires it makes for less wheel slip than the 1500.


    The PC is a great mod for these trucks but the big downside is if something gets messed up you are screwing with your throttle. Which really sucks. Overall it seems like the vast majority have had no issues. I know of the common CEL if the system still has power when you install it, and also if you drop to the lowest setting.
     
  10. noupf

    noupf Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    596
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2015 CC Sport 6'4 Bed
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    well, i contacted the PC people and here is what i was told. The rep i spoke to said he spoke with the ceo / owner and advised me that the issue seems to have something to do with the cold weather and the remote start. Something along the lines of the cold cranking amps of the battery during really cold temps and the voltage produced during the remote start up. Apparently, during all start ups, the PC goes through a little booting cycle as the vehicle is starting and in my situation, due to the cold temps, possibly lower voltage during the remote start and the power cycle of the PC, it resulted in the error message and the check engine light.

    They said they can program the PC to have a 90 second delay when the truck is being started. This will happen no matter if I use the remote start or the normal key fob push button start.

    Not sure how i feel about that to be honest. During non winter seasons, I usually give my truck a minimum 30 seconds or so to warm up before i put it into gear ( of course longer during the winter, especially if i use the remote start ), but that means if i do a start up and a short warm up ( in a rush, motor is already warm or whatever ...), when i pull away, my throttle is going to be set to the oem settings and then after 90 seconds or so, the pedal will then become more sensitive as i'm driving along......

    Also, i finally got the thing off my gas pedal, but not after having to muscle it with a flat head screw driver. Maybe the PC clip was broken...... As i removed it, a piece of the PC clip fell to the floor, so who knows. I'm sending it in to be looked at ( the clip ) and reprogrammed, but i'm not sure i even want to re-install it when i get it back to be honest.....
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2018

Share This Page