Towing Information

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dmullen

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
I just got a 2014 1500 Express Quad Cab, 3.92/8-spd/HEMI/trailer brakes/Class-IV and will be pulling a Rockwood 2560G PUP with the following specs...

Dry Hitch Weight - 249 lbs
Axle Weight - 2115 lbs
Unloaded Vehicle Weight - 2364 lbs
GVWR - 3230 lbs
Cargo Carrying Capacity - 866 lbs

I realize I am easily within towing limits for this truck but I am a newbie at this and would really appreciate someone walking me thru what I need to do as far as using the 8-speed transmission with the towing mode button and also how to use the built-in brake controller.

Thanks!

smurfs_of_war

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
For that weight, throw it D and activate tow haul and leave it. Nothing special to be done.
To set up your TBC, assuming electric brakes, tie on the trailer, put a load in it to simulate a little weight and set your TBC to light electric- start with a gain of 5.0. Start moving up to 25mph then let off the throttle and manually squeeze the TBC. It should be set to the point of stopping but just below the point of locking up the trailer brakes. If they lock, reduce the gain and try again. Not much weight there compared to your truck though, so it might prove to be a little more difficult to tune them up :)

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

audio1der

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
^ Great advice; I used the same method to set mine.
One word of caution; if you AND your GF/wife are new to towing, do this without her or it'll make her nervous. Trust me ;-)

Your truck will LAUGH at that load; like SOF said, 'D', tow/haul and you're loving camping life. Enjoy!

OP
OP
D

dmullen

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7