Towing with RAM 1500 (Tire Load Rating)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

YARTES

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7 V8
HI There,

I'm new in to towing so I'd like to make sure I'd be doing it safely. My truck is a RAM 1500 V8 HEMI with 3.55 axel ratio, and I'm planning to tow a 7000Lb (GWVR) RV with a 670Lb hitch weight. I will use a Curt WDH w/Sway Control.

Unfortunately my payload is only 1245Lb so by the time I add passengers, WD Hitch, and RV Hitch weight, I'm only 10lbs below. :-/

I have 2 questions:

1. Tire Load Rating= I have Nokia Attiva AT tires with a 115 Load Rating (i.e. 2649Lb). The truck GAWR is 39000Lb. Would they be ok for towing or would I need to upgrade to a higher Load rating? (i,e, >120 for 3000Lb+)

2. Do I need air bags in the rear suspension or will the WDH be enough?

Any advice is really appreciated. :)

KMKKOZ

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Airbags would be very helpful. I got the Airlift 1000 HD and I love them. I towed before and after (similarly weighted TT) and it was sagging a couple inches even with the WDH. The airbags level it perfectly.

I still run the stock P rated tires, and I think they are similar in load rating. Yours x 4 is 10,549. If you think you are less than that you are good.

engineering

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
V6 3.6L
Airbags would be very helpful. I got the Airlift 1000 HD and I love them. I towed before and after (similarly weighted TT) and it was sagging a couple inches even with the WDH. The airbags level it perfectly.

I still run the stock P rated tires, and I think they are similar in load rating. Yours x 4 is 10,549. If you think you are less than that you are good.