Transmission fluid and rear differential fluid change

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hattan

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
So my 2014 Ram 1500 SLT 5.7 Hemi has 195k miles and I am deciding to change the transmission fluid and differential fluid as well since I am not sure how long since they've been changed. I've never done either change before so I am asking for advice as well as what are the correct type of fluids to buy and do I change the transmission fluid pan as I saw on youtube?. I also wonder what other fluids to change while I am under the truck already. Lastly I would greatly appreciate tools recommendations that will make these changes go smoother and easier if possible. Thank you.

EdGs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
If you have the 8 speed trans, the OE pan and filter are 1 piece.

Quite a few members here have bought the PPE aluminum pan, which holds approx 1 extra quart of fluid, and has a replaceable filter.

OE Mopar fluid is pricey, about $20-ish per quart.

A garden sprayer, slightly modified, will serve you well for filling the fluid.

Quite a few members here have used Valvoline MaxLife fluid which is $25-ish per gallon, with great results, your call.

I did the OE fluid and OE pan on my '15. Ran me about $370 for the OE pan and 7qts. Mopar fluid from RockAuto. Just a drain and fill took about 5-1/2 qts.

It's been 50k miles since I did the drain and fill, and I wanted to do another to get more old fluid out, but have not done it as of yet.

Before you drain the fluid: Crack the fill plug loose first. Hercules put mine on, I had to use a cheater to break it loose.

Also use wet rags to help prevent burns from the exhaust.