Warn winch fail

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rbohno

Reaction score
Ram Year
2020 Powerwagon
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Question Folks,

I have been using different models of winches on trucks for 40+ years and have used my Warn several times and today got buried at the back of our property. I was winching out at a snails pace and decided to change my anchor point and went to tighten up the winch to pull some more and it was dead. It would spool out but not back in.
I went and got neighbors tractor and pulled myself out and thought let me try it again and it worked?????

It seems like it burnt up, I went to dealership, talked with them and they are ordering me a new one. I have always been under the impression that Warn was one of the top guns regarding winches.Anybody else had any issues????

IRSmart

I drink and I know things
TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018 Power Wagon
Engine
6.4L Hemi
These trucks come with a thermal breaker to cut power if it overheats. You may have overworked it, and once it cooled down it was working again. Replacing it won’t solve this problem in the future, as they’ll be putting the same feature in as the old winch had.

56PW17

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Could it be your connection to the remote? mine went bad and would only spool one direction. Cleaned the connections with a pipe cleaner and added electrical grease. works fine now.

WY.Ram

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4L Hemi
I winched three jeeps out last week, ya three of em with one being my wife's jeep. My winch never completely stopped but lets talk about snails pace, geezus.