1996 5.2 No Start but cranks fine

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rrb6699

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2 / 318
I bought the truck and it ran fine but, noticed the water pump was leaking and red atv on the heater tube.

replaced the water pump and fan clutch and put everything back together. Went smoothly so I thought. Went to crank it to test it and only get crank but no spark at the plug. I can't understand how changing the water pump would affect the starting of a vehicle. I had both battery terminals disconnected and hooked them up in the correct order when I was done. also have a new battery.

There are a few electrical problems also. Since I'm a newbie to Dodge Ram second generation, I'll post them here.

-I checked for parasitic battery drain and found a high drain. my ammeter is only a cheap analog tester and only goes to 250ma, so I just check by touching quickly to see if it pegs the meter. the "50 amp Park lamp/horn" fuse is causing the draw. I checked everything from under the dash to every ground and every plug. I might add the headlights, running, horn, brakes and signals all work with this fuse in despite the amp draw. is this a short to ground? what's a quick way to test this? measure voltage from each battery terminal to body ground?

-fuel gauge doesn't work, fuel light always on even with 5 gals of fuel.

-no power to the OBDII reader port. I have a check engine light so would like to fix this.

-ill post a pic. the truck was wrecked in the front right fender. it looked like only the hood, headlight, passenger side mirror and probably alignment were damaged. it didn't even bend the a/c tubing inside the right fender. radiators were not damaged. I found the headlight and running light leads and electrical taped them to make sure they don't touch anything.