2016 Rebel towing?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CavScout

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Sorry if this has been addressed, I'm not too tech savvy and tried a search but didn't see anything to really answer my concerns.

I own a 2016 Rebel with the 5.7L. My wife and I just purchased a little pop-up camper that weighs 2,250lbs, with a listed hitch weight of 245lbs. My truck's door says my truck only has a payload of 931lbs. Well, when you add the weights of me, wife, and 2 kids, and the hitch weight we're at 755lbs, then the website of my hard tonneau cover says it weighs between 50-75lbs... so let's say 60 since I have the shorter bed. Now we're at 810lbs. So that leaves only 116lbs for gear before hitting payload. I'm new to any kind of towing, so this stuff is all alien to me, and I just want to make sure I am transporting my family safely.

So, my question is, how big of a deal is it really if I go over payload by like 100lbs? I live in west Texas and we will be taking this camper up into the mountains of New Mexico, so high elevation and lots of twists and turns. Also, would it be smarter to just load any gear into the popup, so that only ~15% of the weight goes towards affecting payload? I.e. - if I put 300lbs of gear in the camper, only like 45lbs gets added towards the total payload, still leaving me with 71lbs before I hit payload? Does it actually work that way?

Thanks for any insight, and I'm sorry for my naivety/ignorance on the subject.

OC455

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018, 2019
Engine
5.7 Hemi Big Horn, 6.4L Hemi 3500 Longhorn Mega cab
Loading into the camper will help with your payload. Get the tongue weight right and you shouldn't have much of an issue.

Do you have any anti-sway devices for the trailer or a weight distribution hitch?

OP
OP
C

CavScout

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine