AlfaOBD on a 2016 RAM 2500 - basic question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Steel Chicken

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2017
Posts
5
Reaction score
1
Ram Year
2017, 2010
Engine
Cummins, Hemi 5.7
Hi, have what is probably a simple question, but I have checked the PDF guide from alfaobd and some basic YouTube videos, but having no luck on this topic.

1) AlfaOBD is registered and licensed (v2.5.2.0), Windows 10
2) OBDLink EX FORScan OBD Adapter - works and connects fine
3) 2016 RAM HD 2500 with the Cummins
4) I can connect to the body control computer MY2016+ PowerNet, as instructed through various tutorials online
5) I can view logs, and check for faults

But there are NO options. No ways to change anything.
Active Diagnostic Tab does nothing whether it truck is running, not running, etc. The Start button does nothing.
I see people on youtube who are using older versions of AlfaOBD clicking battery icons and hood icons to change things in the lower right hand corner, but those icons dont show up anywhere on my software.

What am I missing? Or is something broken?
 

John Jensen

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Posts
1,521
Reaction score
1,660
Location
San Diego County
Ram Year
2016
Engine
Ecodiesel
Most of the youtube sites are using Alfa's Android (smartphone) version, you are using the Win PC version which has entirely different screens. I have both and would send you a screenshot for making changes but I'm on vacation til June so cannot help.
If you think you have a problem I suggest you contact/email Alfa, he is quick to reply and very helpful
 
OP
OP
S

Steel Chicken

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2017
Posts
5
Reaction score
1
Ram Year
2017, 2010
Engine
Cummins, Hemi 5.7
Thanks for responding, was able to figure it out (it is a very different interface). Cheers,
 
Top