Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

WanderingOrphan

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
2004 RAM 1500 4.7 and I have a leaking oil pressure switch that I cannot remove as for some reason the socket(s) will not fit it. 1 1/16" deep socket fits the new one like a glove but the one in the truck is either rounded out enough that the socket just spins or it is smaller (which I doubt so I'm going with it's rounded out). 1" socket is too small. Cannot get a grip with any pliers/wrenches/etc.

Going to swing by the store tomorrow and see if a 26mm or 27mm socket will fit but I have my doubts.

Cannot even begin to impress upon y'all how new I am to all of this and am self taught at this point, so any help or pointers on how to get the stupid thing off before I rage-mode it would be insanely appreciated!

Attachments

• oil pressure switch.jpg
    oil pressure switch.jpg
    176.4 KB · Views: 14

Wild one

Reaction score
Ram Year
14 Sport
Engine
2004 RAM 1500 4.7 and I have a leaking oil pressure switch that I cannot remove as for some reason the socket(s) will not fit it. 1 1/16" deep socket fits the new one like a glove but the one in the truck is either rounded out enough that the socket just spins or it is smaller (which I doubt so I'm going with it's rounded out). 1" socket is too small. Cannot get a grip with any pliers/wrenches/etc.

Going to swing by the store tomorrow and see if a 26mm or 27mm socket will fit but I have my doubts.

Cannot even begin to impress upon y'all how new I am to all of this and am self taught at this point, so any help or pointers on how to get the stupid thing off before I rage-mode it would be insanely appreciated!
They make a special 1 1/16 oil pressure sensor socket that's longer then the average deep socket,as most deep sockets aren't long enough.

Last edited:

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine