Cleaning your detailing towels???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TA462

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I'm new to detailing and I'm curious about how everyone cleans their towels, rags etc when they become dirty. Do you just throw them into the washer with Tide or whatever laundry soap you use or do you use something else? Does using laundry soap effect the overall use of the towels? I've got a pile of towels and I want to keep them prestine. Am I just over thinking this???

McBroom

U.S.Marine Veteran Retired 88-2000
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4L
I'm new to detailing and I'm curious about how everyone cleans their towels, rags etc when they become dirty. Do you just throw them into the washer with Tide or whatever laundry soap you use or do you use something else? Does using laundry soap effect the overall use of the towels? I've got a pile of towels and I want to keep them prestine. Am I just over thinking this???

I throw mine in the wash and air dry I don’t put them in the dryer

I Love my 18 Ram 2500HD 4x4 CC
Blue Streak Pearl off-road

Kinetic

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
There are many opinions on this subject but there are also a few constants. Don't use fabric softener, ever. Use a detergent free of scents and hypoallergenic. Best practice is to separate towels by use, glass towels, paint towels, wheel and engine bay towels. Wash in hot water, dry in low heat or air setting.

There are also many dedicated detergents by detailing companies to choose from, one being Micro Restore. Tide Free and Clear is an example of an OTC detergent.

tones2SS

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I clean mine by throwing the used ones in the trash. :crazy: :)
I always use new ones. It gets pretty expensive, but I'm really fussy. lol (Especially with the '13 Roush Stage 3.)