Cooling fan issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

WrenchingWolf

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L cummins
Hey folks, I got a question. I'm a former Ford mechanic, switched into a career/industry that doesn't suck. Using my past knowledge now to be the fleet maintenance guy at my new work site. Anyways, we have a 2019 Ram 4500 with the 6.7L in it, and the cooling fan never releases. Doesn't matter; hot or cold, putting around a parking lot or doing 80 down the interstate, AC on or off. The mechanical fan is always on full-blast sucking away power and fuel and trying to propel the truck forward like it's an airboat. I just drove it from eastern Wyoming to Utah and back, and the fan never once took a break. I know with Ford's powerstrokes, this is usually caused by a faulty fan clutch since I've replaced plenty of those. So here's where my problem is. We've taken this truck to the local dealer three seperate times now asking them to fix this (Truck is under warranty), and each time they gave us the truck back seemingly without even looking at it, telling us it's normal. Which now leads us to my question. Is that truly normal, or do I need to go and put my boot up somewhere to get these guys to do their job? I can half-believe it's normal being a 4500-series, but the fan clutch has a 6-pin connector on it so I'm expecting it to be controlled by the PCM and shut off when it doesn't need it. Thanks!

OP
OP
WrenchingWolf

WrenchingWolf

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L cummins
I was already planning on taking it to another dealer. Only issue is the next closest dealer is 70 miles away. Perks of living in Wyoming. I'm going to give the local dealer once last chance.

stevenP

Reaction score
Ram Year
2022 2500 Longhorn
Engine
6.7L Cummins