Dealer installed electric brakes. 2018 Ram

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Don Perschke

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I had electric brakes installed in my new 2018 Ram. After i got home i couldn't find anywhere on the dash that showed the setting's for the ohm's sent to the brakes. I called the dealer and was told that there is not any gauge. I press the + until i get the setting where I want it. This is by feel only. I got the setting where I wanted and took the first trip. Every time I shut the truck off and restarted, I had to reset the brakes thru the controller. Does this sound correct? This is my first time with factory brake controller. In the past, I always used an after market controller and didn't have this issue.

VernDiesel

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
ED
No it does not sound correct to me. My 14 1500 factory TBC keeps my setting. IE if I shut the truck off with it set to 8 it retains that. In Uconnect is it set on small electric?

OP
OP
D

Don Perschke

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
It doesn't show in uconnect .I don't have any Guage that shows the setting. I was told to set it by feel.

RamInfo

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI
I think you need to take it back to the dealer and have then flash in the sales code for an OEM trailer brake controller. Assuming, of course, that you had a Ram brake controller installed and not an aftermarket unit.

Best
DG

Thendrix

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
I have the factory controller on my 16 2500 and it retains the setting same as Vern.

Bock

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I think you need to take it back to the dealer and have then flash in the sales code for an OEM trailer brake controller. Assuming, of course, that you had a Ram brake controller installed and not an aftermarket unit.

Best
DG
+1

OP
OP
D

Don Perschke