How to add remote start to 2017 Ram

MikeDee

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Posts
41
Reaction score
34
Location
MA
Ram Year
2015
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I installed a new hood latch as the wiring was already there and new fob overlays and RS works great in my 2015. I removed the flashlogic I had installed previously as the factory is a better setup IMO. I haven’t tested the range but it seems pretty good for me.
 

00R/T

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Posts
1,275
Reaction score
802
Location
CT
Ram Year
2013
Engine
5.7 HEMI
Did you add the external antenna as well?

-K

I did not. There is no connection for it on the factory hub, which is why the full kit includes a new one. Range is going to be exactly the same as it is now for your keyless entry(less than it would be with the external antenna );same key, same antenna. I’d be interested to see if that board has a spot where you could solder on the Fakra connector. If I had to guess, I’d bet it does.

I’m installing the Keyless Go, and will be adding the external antenna. This was really just a free test of my hood latch wiring and setup. But, I’m trying an antenna from a Grabd Cherokee. I’m pretty well convinced it is exactly the same just with a longer antenna pigtail. It’s $40 new vs $100, and I got one on eBay to test for $20.

Jeep:
You must be registered for see images attach

Ram:
You must be registered for see images attach
 

kad

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Posts
2,650
Reaction score
2,127
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
Ram Year
2014
Engine
5.7L HEMI
I did not. There is no connection for it on the factory hub, which is why the full kit includes a new one. Range is going to be exactly the same as it is now for your keyless entry(less than it would be with the external antenna );same key, same antenna. I’d be interested to see if that board has a spot where you could solder on the Fakra connector. If I had to guess, I’d bet it does.

I’m installing the Keyless Go, and will be adding the external antenna. This was really just a free test of my hood latch wiring and setup. But, I’m trying an antenna from a Grabd Cherokee. I’m pretty well convinced it is exactly the same just with a longer antenna pigtail. It’s $40 new vs $100, and I got one on eBay to test for $20.

Jeep:
You must be registered for see images attach

Ram:
You must be registered for see images attach
Have you had a chance to try the Jeep one yet? I checked the part numbers and the Jeep one is listed as a "Keyless Entry Antenna", the RAM one as a "Remote Start And Keyless Entry Antenna".

-K
 

ngiovas

Member
Joined
May 5, 2017
Posts
71
Reaction score
41
Ram Year
2015
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I found several threads on enabling remote start, but this thread was helpful, so I thought I would post my question here.

I enabled remote start on my 2015 ram 2500 using Alfa OBD. Did the following:

* Remote Start Present - yes
* Hood ajar input present - yes
* Reset RF Hub using PIN

After doing this, when I hit the remote start button twice the truck locks, the horn chirps and the turn signals flash one time. The truck does not start and there is no message on the cluster. Are there any other steps I need to follow? Others have said that if there was an issue with the hood latch switch, it would show a message on the cluster stating that the hood was open. Is this after you start the car with the key? Again, I don't see any messages about remote start, but not quite sure I am looking in the right place.
 

DoughRat19

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
171
Reaction score
82
Location
Massachusetts
Ram Year
2019 Classic
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I found several threads on enabling remote start, but this thread was helpful, so I thought I would post my question here.

I enabled remote start on my 2015 ram 2500 using Alfa OBD. Did the following:

* Remote Start Present - yes
* Hood ajar input present - yes
* Reset RF Hub using PIN

After doing this, when I hit the remote start button twice the truck locks, the horn chirps and the turn signals flash one time. The truck does not start and there is no message on the cluster. Are there any other steps I need to follow? Others have said that if there was an issue with the hood latch switch, it would show a message on the cluster stating that the hood was open. Is this after you start the car with the key? Again, I don't see any messages about remote start, but not quite sure I am looking in the right place.
Did you have the hood latch wiring and if so did you install a new hood latch with the sensor and connect the wiring?
 

ngiovas

Member
Joined
May 5, 2017
Posts
71
Reaction score
41
Ram Year
2015
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I ended up getting it to work. I drove the truck a couple of times and tried again and it is working now.
 

kad

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Posts
2,650
Reaction score
2,127
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
Ram Year
2014
Engine
5.7L HEMI
Tried this on my '14 1500 today. Set the appropriate fields in the BCM, reset the RF Hub, drove it to the store and back (about 10 miles) and shorted the contacts for the RS button on the fob. I got a turn signal flash and horn beep, along with "Remote Start Canceled, Hood Open" on the EVIC. Success! Looks like all I need is a new set of fob overlays and a hood latch with the switch (and maybe a little wiring if it's not all there, the connector is there).

-K
 

kad

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Posts
2,650
Reaction score
2,127
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
Ram Year
2014
Engine
5.7L HEMI
Has anyone tried getting one of these $25 eBay hood latches and moving the switch to their OEM latch? It looks like it's held on with one screw and a couple of plastic locating pins. The holes are already there on the non-switch OEM one.


-K
 

Matt Franklin

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Posts
84
Reaction score
33
Location
Lexington, KY
Ram Year
2019
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Has anyone tried getting one of these $25 eBay hood latches and moving the switch to their OEM latch? It looks like it's held on with one screw and a couple of plastic locating pins. The holes are already there on the non-switch OEM one.


-K
Interesting idea. I've got my new latch laying on the bench at home, and was planning to install this weekend. Let me take a look at this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kad
Top