Noob, tastes like chicken....

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JanB

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel w/68rfe
Hi,

We called the dealer and arranged to pick up a new 2019 Ram 3500 Diesel with the 68rfe and a Tradesman 2 package, spray-in liner and trailer brake controller, 12,300 GVWR. We are planning to get it tomorrow for purpose of pulling an RV. Mostly likely a 5th wheel. It will be our first diesel, our first 3/4 or 1 ton, and eventually our first RV. Total noobs.

A couple of questions:

The truck does not have the 5th wheel prep and the dealer said they could not add that. :-( I know a 5th wheel hitch can be added, but the Ram system seems pretty slick. Any thoughts?

The truck does not have an engine block heater and will be operated in the Rocky Mtn. region in winter. For all I know, we might want to do a Northern Lights trip at some point, meaning northern BC in the winter for a few days. Dealer said they could not add that either. I was astounded. Is it a big deal to add that to this vehicle? The dealer said the vehicle is rated to -20 F without a block heater. True?

Anything else we should know?

Thanks!

Jan

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Welcome to RamForum.

My 2500 didn't have the system either but the hitch installation wasn't a problem with it not being there. Mine is a Laramie but wasn't built with the option and it doesn't come standard on the Tradesman package either.