Overlanding a 1500 Rebel

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

71FatFish

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0L Turbo EcoDiesel
Does anyone have any experience building an overlander out of the 1500 Rebel? If you wouldn't do the Rebel why? I'm thinking hard about it and I think I'll be picking the EcoDiesel. Why is that a good pick, if it's not why pick the Hemi over it? I'm also interested in any parts recommendations, by brand/model, or function. Thanks.

mikeru

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Ram Year
2020 Limited
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
First I want to qualify my answer by saying that although I've done some reading about it, I have no first-hand overland experience.

I don't see any reason why the Rebel couldn't be a good candidate for this. But it depends on the modifications you plan to make on whichever vehicle you choose. Depending on the build you're planning, I might choose something cheaper like a Tradesman or base Big Horn, if you'll be replacing suspension parts anyway. There's no reason to spend more on the Rebel for upgraded off-road parts, only to replace those parts. If you're not planning to replace many parts then the Rebel would be a better choice. Although the Rebel isn't priced much below the Power Wagon. And it's already quite capable in stock form.

soapy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 hemi