Restoring Heavily Faded Plastic

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Fishstickz

Reaction score
Ram Year
'06, '16
Engine
3.7, 5.7 Hemi
Howdy yall! Its my first time popping in here from the 3rd gen section, looking forward to spending even more money on my truck for detailing products (my wallet isn’t looking forward to that though)

The main reason I’m here is I have two new door panels to put in my truck. Long story short, I’m in the midst of a power window/lock conversion and needed new interior door panels. I got them both relatively cheap, but heres the issue

08993e8babf833db8dcb7344e52f4a33.jpg

They’re both dirty I know

Just to be clear, the drivers door panel was exposed to the salvage yard climate for about 1 month, while the passenger door panel was exposed for years. In a perfect world I would just go find a better condition door panel, but these are so rare and hard to find i feel lucky just to find these two matching panels

So my question is, do y’all think anything will be able to restore that plastic back to the good lookin’ gray?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
I'd look at Duplicolor's interior plastic products.

You might have to treat and spray both panels to get them looking better and have them match. Duplicolor has what you need to do that.

avantiguy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi
There are several manufactures of spray dyes. Duplicolor as stated SEM, VHT and some others. Google will help you see who has the color you may want. I've used duplicolor and SEM, both work well but as a word of advice, follow the directions exactly and use thin coats.

These are the panels I took from s-brindle brown to a combo of gloss and satin black with SEM colors. If you don't like the results, you can wipe off the paint and redo them.