Tunes/chips/programmers??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

finally03gt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I'm fairly new to the dodge world, and I have googled till my eyes crossed and can't find a solid answer so here it is:

2003 Ram 1500 Laramie 5.7 Quad Cab 4X4. I bought it with a Magnaflow dual out muffler and just had a Magnaflow 3" cat installed. Also running a K&N filter. Looking for a little more umph, but its really not clear from various sources how much to really expect from a tune. Anyone with real world numbers or experience. It seems that 2002-2003 have a PCI bus and 2004+ went CAN???, and I'm guessing that makes some difference.

Also I know forums don't always do well with dual questions post, but taking a chance...... I've notice when I feed it throttle under load, my TB at the manifold maxes about about 43% until I give it enough to down shift (number from torque pro and I feel it in the seat). What's up with that?

Thanks for the input.

chrisp2493

Always Modding
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
392 Hemi
You got stuck with a crap year. You’ll get a small bump in driveability improvements with a superchips or diablo tune. There’s a few custom tuners that can get alittle power out of the 03 but it’s not easy or really that cheap. Jay Greene Racing has the fastest 03’s running his tuning and custom cam for the 03, but tuning issues can make it a headache.

I Bleed Ram Trucks

OP
OP
finally03gt

finally03gt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Let me guess... an '04 + (with CAN bus) would be as easy to chip as my Mustang....

chrisp2493

Always Modding
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
392 Hemi
04 is when the tuning got usable, 05 is even better.

I Bleed Ram Trucks

OP
OP
finally03gt

finally03gt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi