2014 Ram 1500 3.0L Turbo Diesel replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TexasRam2014

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3L, V-6 EcoDiesel
Newbie here. I have a 2014 Dodge Ram Tradesman, AWD, 6 cyl, with the 3.0L TurboDiesel. According the mechanic in the town in broke down in an injector exploded and the engine now has metal shards in and is non-functional. Question 1: Can these engines be rebuilt (mechanic says no) Question 2: if I put a rebuilt engine in there would I be better off avoiding the 3.0L trubodiesel and going with 3.6L gas engine

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
Did an injector let loose or just the HPFP? or was it something internal to the engine? Never heard of an injector exploding taking an engine out. The HPFP and the fuel system can be replaced without swapping the engine.
Or there's a whole new engine: https://store.mopar.com/oem-parts/mopar-complete-engine-5158048af
Despite all the ney sayer on this somewhat Hemi biased forum there are a lot of EcoDiesel running around well into the 100K and 200K mile mark, even three confirmed that have gone over 400K miles
Changing to gas you would probably need to swap the transmission as it uses a slightly different one than the EcoDiesel.

OP
OP
T

TexasRam2014

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3L, V-6 EcoDiesel
Thanks, Crash. I'm not 100% certain what destroyed the engine but do know there is metal down in the pan and filter. i think my solution is to be a another 3.0L Eco Diesel and have it put in. I hope we can get 200K out of the next engine. It will make the 10 grand easier to swallow.
I wish there was an alternative diesel for replacement. These 3.0l's are hard to find.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine