Moog or Timken?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Oliver Closehauf

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 Laramie
Engine
Cummins 5.9
What do you guys and gals think? Moog or Timken? I need to put new wheel bearings in a non Ram. Units come as the bearing and hub assembly. I will have to press them in. Trying to decide which will be better and last longer as the total junk I put in maybe 3000 miles ago made it about a year before they started making noise. They are a PITA to replace. Went to the junk yard this morning to get new steering knuckles so I can do the actual swap in the shortest time possible. Just need to order the new hubs to press in. Appreciate any recommendations.

zogg

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018 Ram Express Quad Cab
Engine
Hemi 5.7
As a mechanic, I always used timpkin bearings and moog chassis parts. Good luck

Highway

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Last timken wheel hub ,had made in korea on it.

GTyankee

Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel
I can't guess which is better
I do know that if you go to an Auto Parts Store & ask for a Timken Bearing for a particular purpose,
Then you go to NAPA or a Bearing Supply Warehouse & ask for the same application,
You will have different part numbers

Usually the difference is the amount of clearance or slop built into the bearing is what makes the cost difference

The Auto Parts Store bearing, may have .025 slop
The Bearing Warehouse & usually Napa bearing may have .012 slop

Hemi395

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I've always had good luck with both brands. Currently have Timkin front wheel hubs and Moog Super Strength greasable ujoints on my truck.

OP
OP
Oliver Closehauf

Oliver Closehauf

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 Laramie
Engine
Cummins 5.9