Offroading, lifts, tires and more - I'm a total newb to this stuff.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

welbster

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi
Hi all - as the title states, I'm a total newbie to offroading. But I also live in the Hualapais along the Arizona Peace Trail and own a 2016 4x4 RAM and kinda want to do the trail. If you're not familiar with the Peace Trail you can find info at https://arizonapeacetrail.org/

Mission is thus: I want to do the trail, but this machine is also my daily ride for work and due to other things happening in my life (pending retirement to a place that isn't Arizona in 2 years) I don't want to spend a ton of money jacking up/enhancing a truck I won't have for much longer. My research and discussion with other offroaders boils down to "if you take the easy routes and skip the moderate/hard stuff you shouldn't need much of a lift (2"), or maybe just bigger tires."

So here I am, hoping that some folks who know a helluva lot more about this stuff than I do are willing to share their wisdom. If I put on 20" rims/tires will I get the 2" of clearance one of the offroaders I talked to thought I might need? Or do I need to do a lift? I have street tires, so I'll need something with a more aggressive tread anyway, so tires seem the way to go for not a lot of expense and the ability to do the trail that I want to do. What are the tires experienced offroaders use? Do I need new/better shocks/suspension? Most importantly - what in the heck am I missing or not understanding?!??!?

I'm well aware that a ton of this is subjective, but any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Daniel Ortiz

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 L Hemi V8
@welbster , I also went for a minimal build due to daily commuting, and the fact that my part of Texas is flat as a pancake.