Whipple 2.9 Help!!

Discussion in 'Engine & Performance' started by MaxSteel2013, Jul 13, 2019 at 8:20 PM.

Sponsored By: Moe's Performance
  1. MaxSteel2013

    MaxSteel2013 Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    76227
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    Guys -

    I finished my whipple install and am throwing the following codes after a DTC reset. I'm at a loss right now...

    0x7E8: P000B - Exhaust (B) Camshaft Position Slow Response Bank 1 (Pending, Current, Permanent)
    0x7E8: P0016 - Crankshaft Position - Camshaft Position Correlation - Bank 1 Sensor A (Pending, Current, Permanent)
    0x7E8: P018D - Fuel Pressure Sensor B Circuit High (Permanent)
    0x7E9: P1DF3 (Permanent)
    0x7E9: U0100 - Lost Communication With ECM/PCM A (Permanent)

    Any help is appreciated.
     
    Gtotommy likes this.
  2. Fast69Mopar

    Fast69Mopar Senior Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    May 10, 2019
    Location:
    Texas
    Ram Year:
    2004
    Engine:
    5.7 HEMI
    What else did you install along with the Whipple?

    Did you put a cam in it as well?

    Did you install the cam phaser lockout and limiter kit?

    Are all of your sensors plugged in?

    Do you have a tuner? If so, what brand?

    Who is doing your custom tuning?
     
    Tach_tech likes this.
  3. Pull Ya

    Pull Ya U.S. MARINE VETERAN Supporting Member Military

    Posts:
    12,792
    Likes Received:
    11,988
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Location:
    Cedar Creek, Tx
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Matt at Moe's has 2.9 on his race truck. You could give him a call Monday during business hours. I also think member Tachtech has a whipple on his truck so you could PM him. Both are very helpful.
    Jay
     
    MaxSteel2013 likes this.
  4. Tach_tech

    Tach_tech Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7L HEMI
    Pretty much what fast69mopar said. What else besides the whipple did you do if anything. What tune do you have?

    Are both PCM connectors tight and installed all the way?

    P0016 is likely related to P000B. It is weird to get a slow response code like that if you didn’t change anything else. Did you possibly damage some of the wiring under the intake?

    Is the fuel pressure sensor plugged in?

    What are you using to clear codes? When I did my whipple, I noticed there were some codes that that HP tuners couldn’t clear and I had to use the factory scan tool.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019 at 12:26 PM
  5. Tim Garceau

    Tim Garceau Senior Member

    Posts:
    432
    Likes Received:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Location:
    Killwaukee
    Ram Year:
    2014 Sport Quad BSP
    Engine:
    3.92 8 Speed 5.7 4X4
    Based on the logic being consecutive codes, you might have lost a fuse if you did any wiring extending or when relocating the throttle body.

    More info is needed, what was all done during the manifold/blower assembly and was the vehicle fully operational prior?
     
  6. MaxSteel2013

    MaxSteel2013 Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    76227
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    Just the Whipple, no cam, all sensors are plugged in (I need to get into the back to check MAF again (but wouldn't think that would cause it anyway)

    I have an HP tuner and an SCT. The HP carries the Whipple tuned file.
     
  7. MaxSteel2013

    MaxSteel2013 Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    76227
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    No other engine mods were done. Vehicle was fully operational with no DTCs prior to install.

    Good call on fuses. I'll have to check when I get it back from the alignment shop.

    I can clear the codes with the SCT tool and the truck starts and runs with no DTCs. Then if I shut it off and restart it I get codes.
     
  8. MaxSteel2013

    MaxSteel2013 Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    76227
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    I'll recheck the PCM connectors this afternoon. I had to change the PCM to unlock tuning capabilities so this could easily be it. I'll recheck all sensor connections I touched as well.

    I threw a similar code when I installed my Edelbrock in my 2013 and it was just a sensor I hadn't plugged back in.
     
  9. MaxSteel2013

    MaxSteel2013 Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    76227
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    Ok...the fuel pressure sensor wasn't fully plugged in. Only P0016 and P000B remain.
     
    huntergreen likes this.
  10. Tach_tech

    Tach_tech Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7L HEMI
    The MAP sensor wouldn’t cause those codes.

    Those dtcs come back every time? Just those ones?
     

Share This Page