2014 5.7L Knock/Tick/Tap?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Curt Gobbell

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7L
I have a 2014 Ram Laramie Limited with the 5.7L Hemi with 145k on the truck. Today, out of the blue, it started ticking/tapping/knocking (not sure how to describe it).

Here is what I have diagnosed so far;
1. The noise matches engine speed
2. Same sound/volume in drive, neutral or reverse
3. Only hear it at idle and low speed. Can't hear it past 30 MPH (I believe it is still there, I just cant hear it)
4. The sound does not change tone/volume as I accelerate
5. I changed oil and put LUCAS stabilizer and 5w-20 in it and no change to the sound
6. I used an automotive stethoscope all around the engine and couldn't pin point the origin
7. No CEL codes per OBD reader
8. No codes/warnings on dash

I'm a pretty good mechanic, but I would appreciate your help before i start tearing it down. Would you guys watch the video and tell me what you think it is?

I recorded a walk-around here

Jtblackram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Damn thats a tick and a half. Sounds like a bum lifter in some capacity. Strange that there wouldnt be a misfire code so im hesitant to say its that for sure. But i cant imagine much else that would make a sound like that, doesnt really sound like an exhaust leak

tidefan1967

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Sounds like a bad lifter/rounded off cam lobe for sure. That's exactly what my 2015 sounded like when the the cam/lifters went out on it. You will get a CEL eventually, it just might not be worn to that point yet but it won't probably take long. I would go ahead and pull the valve covers and check and see which valve isn't opening up as much as the others at a minimum or just go ahead and plan on tearing it down and replacing the cam/lifters.

ChevySlayer69

Reaction score
Ram Year