Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hid Issues....?

Discussion in 'Exterior' started by patrick3319, Dec 23, 2014.

Sponsored By: BAK Factory Outlet
  1. patrick3319

    patrick3319 Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I have a 2015 1500 sport, i ordered a set from TRS of 4300k with the canbus adapters. Everything works. Driving this evening, my lights would turn off for a couple seconds and then back on... Happened a few times, anyone else encounter this issue, or have any ideas?
     
  2. Diller

    Diller Senior Member

    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    Ram Year:
    2006
    Engine:
    5.9 Cummins
    Sounds like you need a capacitor or if there is one, it isn't wired correctly.
     
  3. patrick3319

    patrick3319 Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Heres what came in my order thru TRS.

    Ballasts: 2 x Morimoto XB35 (35W)
    Igniters: 2 x Morimoto XB Igniter (AMP)
    Bulbs: 2 x 9012: 3Five 4300K
    Harness Type: 2 x Canbus

    Looking on the site I'm now noticing they had a different order of Mopar specific, that includes an HD-relay and mentions nothing about using a canbus adapter instead.

    **EDIT**
    I actually talked to someone from the site before I purchased these even, and they mentioned the canbus adapters would work the same as the relays
     
  4. N1ck

    N1ck Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    578
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Regina Sk
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    5.7
    I just run cheap vvme $30 hids and code cancellers from vvme or ddm, never had a single issue on my 2013 quads or 2014 projectors.
     
    BlownGP likes this.
  5. patrick3319

    patrick3319 Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    could this be possibly due to the ballasts not being properly/securely mounted? I don't think so, but i'm just trying to eliminate any possibilities

    **EDIT**

    Could this be due to using the AUTO setting? Should I be manually turning them on and off?
     
  6. Sir John

    Sir John Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    883
    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ram Year:
    2016 1500 Rebel "Mopar 16" Special Edition
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    That's what I have and I've never had any problems. Well, I have the 50w ballasts.
     
  7. RHeller

    RHeller Senior Member

    Posts:
    264
    Likes Received:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Location:
    usa
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Sounds like a bad connection somewhere
     
  8. patrick3319

    patrick3319 Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I want to readjust the height of the lights (1 side is higher than the other). I'll have to recheck all the connections, but i'm pretty sure everything was CLICKED together... and not loose, maybe i'll play with wires and see if something is loose or a bad connection from TRS or something
     
  9. Pigeonman

    Pigeonman Senior Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    645
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I have the same setup in my '14 and no problems. My ballasts, adapters and everything are all stuffed in the housing and I run mine on auto all the time. If your connections are all good I'd get a hold of TRS and see if they can help trouble shoot. Is it both lights or just one?
     
  10. patrick3319

    patrick3319 Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    You had the canbus adapter as well? Geez I couldn't even wrap my head around getting all that stuff in there! LOL I bow to you! But i'll check over all my connections and see. It looked like both lights went out, which to me seems weird if it was a connection, because only 1 should be going out, shouldn't it?
     

Share This Page