How to: Add Dual Zone ATC to a Tradesman

Remen

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Posts
51
Reaction score
25
Location
CA
Ram Year
2017
Engine
3.0L Diesel
Monday ordered the HVAC module and it arrived today. It took all of 15 minutes to R/R the module and test the system.
These are the results:
You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

Dual mode working normally. Ran control functions and temperature settings and now system cools and heats as expected. Success!

The original HVAC module was part of the 8.4 UAQ upgrade kit and dual zone option. The first modification to the system was configured as a single zone ATC system all worked well. When I changed the hardware and settings to a dual zone system my adventure began. Electrical components can fail without any indication as evidenced by the “new” module failure.
 

Remen

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Posts
51
Reaction score
25
Location
CA
Ram Year
2017
Engine
3.0L Diesel
The process involving the modification works and relatively inexpensive. My case was unusual and work intensive due to the HVAC module failure. Thanks again to STecoD, Ricks Ram, and jimmy07 for their support in this venture.
 

Ricks Ram

Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Posts
4,411
Reaction score
3,348
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
The process involving the modification works and relatively inexpensive. My case was unusual and work intensive due to the HVAC module failure. Thanks again to STecoD, Ricks Ram, and jimmy07 for their support in this venture.
Glad hear you got it figured out. That was definitely a tricky one! My blend door motor being incorrect when I did mine was also a little tricky but it works great now. I use the Dual Zone a lot. I really like this mod. It really isn't as hard to do as some might think and is relatively inexpensive to do.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

Mega_Newblar

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Posts
2
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Ram Year
2015
Engine
5.7L v8 Hemi
Any reason I couldn't do this mod on my 2015 Ram 1500 Quad Cab? I already have the single zone ATC mod installed and working. Would the wiring be the same?
 

Ricks Ram

Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Posts
4,411
Reaction score
3,348
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Any reason I couldn't do this mod on my 2015 Ram 1500 Quad Cab? I already have the single zone ATC mod installed and working. Would the wiring be the same?
You can definitely do it to your 15 Quad Cab. I installed the Dual Zone on my 14 Quad Cab and it works great. The wiring for the HVAC is the same on the Quad Cab and the Crew Cab trucks. To order the correct HVAC box find a 13 to 18 Laramie Quad Cab on Ebay that's for sale and get the Vin#. All Laramie trucks are Dual Zone. Make sure it has the same Cab configuration and engine as what you you have. If you have a gas engine make sure the truck you get the Vin# from does as well. If you have a jump seat and no console make sure the truck you get the Vin# off of is the same. If you have a center console make sure you get the Vin# off of a truck that also is a Quad Cab with the center console. Contact Benny @AllMoparParts.com in the vendor section and give him two vin#s off two Laramie trucks with the same configuration as your truck and he will verify your part# and you can order it through them. My truck is a Quad Cab 5.7 Hemi with the Jump Seat the correct part# for the Dual Zone HVAC box for my truck was 68048891AD. You will also need to buy one extra blend door motor. The blend door motor part# my 14 took was 68448926AA.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

Mega_Newblar

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Posts
2
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Ram Year
2015
Engine
5.7L v8 Hemi

Thanks for the confirmation.. Doing my research now, making a list and checking it twice. Only part that seems intimidating is the wiring but I'm sure I can figure it out.

I'll be sure to take some pics when I'm ready to take the plunge.
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,582
Reaction score
3,692
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
For anyone considering this with an 8.4 conversion ... I have the parts/method to build the extra pass. blend door wiring into the conversion harness to avoid splices/soldering repinning connectors. Can't really retrofit it on my end into anything that's already gone out.
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,582
Reaction score
3,692
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
Here's what the 7 speed conversion harness looks like with the ATC part 1 cabin Temp sensor wiring and the new option connector so I can support part 2 humidity sensor harness (or 2500 fan harness) with the dual Zone pass. blend door wiring/connector.

Other than doing the dash pull/plenum box hardware swap... The wiring is now a plug n play option.

Hoping @Ant_si_08 shares some install pictures when he gets around to it.

You must be registered for see images attach


M² Mods.
 

Ricks Ram

Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Posts
4,411
Reaction score
3,348
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Looks nice Mike. Hopefully a few more guys will give it a try. It's really not that hard to do, especially now that you offer a harness.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

RAMMIN_TIME

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Posts
19
Reaction score
4
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7
Curious on the Alfa calibration, do you need a special cable or will OBD MX+ work? I notice in Alfa OBD it said something about MS – CAN blue.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Top