spongey brakes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

adamdrives

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 magnum
Hey guys, I just picked up my first truck ever, a 98 2500 gasser 4x4 with the 8' bed. 137k on it, got a great price and loving it so far. I bought the truck with the intention of towing a trailer and car to the track (well, that's really just a happy side effect, after I test drove this I just had to get it). I've been a Volvo mechanic for about 3 years so I'm not a stranger to turning a wrench, but I'm sure I still have a lot to learn.

Couple questions: I've searched around and a few other members on various threads have talked about a persistent, mysterious, spongey brake pedal. Since I'll be towing with the truck, I wanted to make sure the brakes are completely serviceable. It has discs in front and drums in the rear. I flushed the fluid, put heavy duty pads towing pads in front and made sure the slides were free and lubricated, but I still don't feel confident in how this thing stops. It stops, but there is a hesitation from when I begin pushing down on the pedal to when I can actually feel the brakes engaging. Most of the time, I don't notice it and begin braking early, but if I stomp on the pedal to mimic a panic stop, the pedal has a decent amount of travel before anything starts happening. Even then, it doesn't feel anywhere close to needing the abs to prevent the wheels from locking up.