196,000 miles too many??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JasonC

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hello- Newbie here. I need a Dually to tow my 20K fifth wheel camper. I am considering a 2018 3500 Tradesman (Aisin, 4.10s, rear auto level) that has 196,000 miles on it. It was bought new and used to tow car trailers for a hot shot business. The truck has been decently maintained, and is documented. I am not sure the trans has ever been serviced though. It may be original fluid. I test drove the truck and it drives great, you'd NEVER know it has that many miles. Trans shifts are quick and firm. I was considering a much newer truck with much lower miles, but you are talking $40K++ versus ~$20K for this truck. That is a lot of savings, assuming I won't need to put a lot of money in it. Thoughts?

I am considering having it inspected to check ball joints, tie rods...etc....

The truck is dry as a bone underneath, no leaks.

thanks

JohnnyMac

There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018 1500 Laramie
Engine
3.0 EcoBurner
I think if the inspection goes well, then just figure at some point you might need a new transmission and offer appropriately. I bought a truck (1990 GMC) when it was 10 years old and had 140k on it and it was an awesome truck. Previous owner took great care of it which appears the one you're looking at was and it never gave me a lick of trouble and ran like a top. I sold it 5 years later and in 2010 I saw it running around Kodiak Alaska. I stopped the guy and it was the same person I sold it to. He said it was the best truck he ever owned. If it's in good shape, I'd certainly consider it.

RVGuy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
How in the hell does someone manage to drive 196k miles in a 2018?