INFO - 2013-2018 8.4A /AN FW Notes (RA3/VP3-NA & RA4/VP4-NA & UAx)

SitKneelBend

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
7,506
Reaction score
3,559
Location
St. Louis
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
This is the version I'm running now... radio reboots often. More so after using car play. I'm looking for a solution!
If you're already on 30.24 I would try 34.2. The sound quality of music on 34.2 is great compared to all other firmwares IMO.

As far as reboots go, I believe there is a wire shorting in the center jumpseat that causes this behavior. It was happening to me too until I de-pinned the AUX wires at the back of the radio.
 

Outback199

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Posts
24
Reaction score
13
Location
Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Ram Year
2019
Engine
V3.0 Diesel
If you're already on 30.24 I would try 34.2. The sound quality of music on 34.2 is great compared to all other firmwares IMO.

As far as reboots go, I believe there is a wire shorting in the center jumpseat that causes this behavior. It was happening to me too until I de-pinned the AUX wires at the back of the radio.
No - I'm at 22.06 - how does one obtain a copy of wither 30.24 or 34.2?
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,528
Reaction score
3,638
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
See link towards bottom of first post.
Completely at your own risk & no way to go backwards.
 

Outback199

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Posts
24
Reaction score
13
Location
Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Ram Year
2019
Engine
V3.0 Diesel
I don't recommend it in your case. I would first check for a wire short. Do you have a center jump seat?
Ok - ready the thread @Mpgrimm2 referenced - beyond my risk tolerance.

I would like to clarify - that its not so much a reboot - but while driving (like yesterday) The radio will stop responding to input. Volume commands, power button etc... but the SXM is still producing audio. After about 1 minute it will reboot, and be fine.

Some times it does this 3x in a row, and it'll be ok. I can't figure out what triggers it - CARPLAY was connected last night.

I do have the center jumpseat, yes. I did have to change the USB Media Hub when I did the upgrade.
 

SitKneelBend

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
7,506
Reaction score
3,559
Location
St. Louis
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
Ok - ready the thread @Mpgrimm2 referenced - beyond my risk tolerance.

I would like to clarify - that its not so much a reboot - but while driving (like yesterday) The radio will stop responding to input. Volume commands, power button etc... but the SXM is still producing audio. After about 1 minute it will reboot, and be fine.

Some times it does this 3x in a row, and it'll be ok. I can't figure out what triggers it - CARPLAY was connected last night.

I do have the center jumpseat, yes. I did have to change the USB Media Hub when I did the upgrade.
Possibly overheating causing it to become unresponsive.
 

pope3909

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
2014 RA3/VP3-NA (PN: 68224531Ax)
- v17.43.01 Fw Link (removes Dual Cam Support) and Update Directions Link
List of changes: TSB 08-068-18 My13_My14 17.43.01.pdf
MD5: C34A8C97BBF018ACA08E2D5DEAD9CABA

NOTE: The only files that should be on your Fat32 8gb+ Thumbdrive when ready will be "swdl.iso" and "swdl.upd"

I'm on v16.13.13 and I'm trying to eventually upgrade to v18.x, but I've been told by someone that I have to go from v16.x to v17.x and THEN to v18.x. Uconnect was no help at all - they don't offer previous firmware versions, and the lady told me that for having v16x I'd have to go through my dealer to update. The deal wants $190 and that's a no go for me.

That said, this firmware download doesn't work for me. I have a 2014 RAM 1500 BIGHORN and I am 68224531AE. (I physically looked on the back of the unit.) I've tried several different flash drives, formatted to FAT32 and above 8Gb. I extract the files and make sure they are the only two files on the USB. I put the USB stick in while in park and it does not prompt to update. It does detect the USB because it tells me there is no playable media on it.

I'm wondering if anyone else has been in this situation?
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,528
Reaction score
3,638
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
I'm on v16.13.13 and I'm trying to eventually upgrade to v18.x, but I've been told by someone that I have to go from v16.x to v17.x and THEN to v18.x. Uconnect was no help at all - they don't offer previous firmware versions, and the lady told me that for having v16x I'd have to go through my dealer to update. The deal wants $190 and that's a no go for me.

That said, this firmware download doesn't work for me. I have a 2014 RAM 1500 BIGHORN and I am 68224531AE. (I physically looked on the back of the unit.) I've tried several different flash drives, formatted to FAT32 and above 8Gb. I extract the files and make sure they are the only two files on the USB. I put the USB stick in while in park and it does not prompt to update. It does detect the USB because it tells me there is no playable media on it.

I'm wondering if anyone else has been in this situation?
All I can say is that's the file I used on my parents 14ram1500 with RA3 VP3-NA with the same PN radio and it worked.
 

SitKneelBend

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
7,506
Reaction score
3,559
Location
St. Louis
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
I'm on v16.13.13 and I'm trying to eventually upgrade to v18.x, but I've been told by someone that I have to go from v16.x to v17.x and THEN to v18.x. Uconnect was no help at all - they don't offer previous firmware versions, and the lady told me that for having v16x I'd have to go through my dealer to update. The deal wants $190 and that's a no go for me.

That said, this firmware download doesn't work for me. I have a 2014 RAM 1500 BIGHORN and I am 68224531AE. (I physically looked on the back of the unit.) I've tried several different flash drives, formatted to FAT32 and above 8Gb. I extract the files and make sure they are the only two files on the USB. I put the USB stick in while in park and it does not prompt to update. It does detect the USB because it tells me there is no playable media on it.

I'm wondering if anyone else has been in this situation?
When you say "above 8GB", how big is it?
 

pope3909

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
When you say "above 8GB", how big is it?

I've tried several different brand of USB, 16Gb and formatted to FAT32. When I plug in to the USB in my center console it just tells me there is no playable media on the device.

EDIT: Does anyone have RA3/VP3-NA v17.11 instead of v17.43? Maybe that would be worth a try.
 
Top