Need HONEST/1st HAND Towing advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rick Ram-jet

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 2500 4x4 CC / LB
Engine
6.4 L
Greetings All, we`re looking at getting a travel trailer in the spring and traveling the country!

What I need is 1st hand info/feedback on what our truck can "realistically tow?"
we have: 2016 Ram 6.4 2500 crew cab, long bed, currently 37in tires/3:73 and Thuren 3in/1in/2.5 King shocks..
I plan to run 4:88 or probably 5:13 gears and should have 5k air lift bags on by spring...

Tow rating for my vin is: 12,460 and 3,130 pay load, total GCWR is: 19,800

Now, here is where I need your help: the trailers I`m researching are bumper pull style 32-36ft at around 10-11,500k dry with around 62ish gal fresh and 80+ gal gray water...

I have no experience what additional weight a loaded trailer weighs, based on actual feedback I`m trying to decided if my truck can realistically tow this heavy of a trailer or would it be more realistic to trade up to a diesel! I have considered a 5th wheel but even the shortest ones I`ve looked at are already near max tow weight dry and have less push-outs, etc...

Thanks in advance and please be honest....Cheers, Rick

Travelin Ram

Reaction score
Somewhere in NA. Probably. We travel a lot.
Ram Year
Engine
If you’re retiring or something and plan to travel on an ongoing basis then get the diesel and thank me later.

Skip the 2500 entirely and get the 3500 SRW as a minimum.

Trailers will never weigh the dry weight and will frequently be near GVWR. Toy haulers empty or lightly loaded being somewhat the exception, but then they’ll have excessive tongue weight.