New Camshaft recommendation?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gilberts Garage

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Hey ya'll

I'm new here, but have spent hours reading threads. I've been a GM/Chrysler tech for the last 13yrs so I have loads of experience in replacing parts. I've always replaced with oem parts, never installed a "performance" camshafts before. I have a failed lifter 4 weeks after buying my "new" truck, yippee.

If I'm going to open this thing up to replace the cam and lifters, I want to add a nice lobey idle to it. The problem is I'm kind of strapped for cash right now as I'm having a shop built once the frost is out of the ground.

My shop is set to be done mid-July, but I need my truck back before then to pick up equipment and such. I don't need to add a bunch of power. I just want it to sound bad@$$. What do ya'll recommend?

hemihustlin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
hmmmmm let me polish up my old magic 8 ball
*wipes off dirty hands on an even dirtier shop rag*

lets see here *sniffs and coughs on some old shop dust*
needs cam and lifters, strapped for cash, building new garage, dont need a bunch of power, need the truck back on the road soon

I dont know what it is but something otherworldly is telling me to not go crazy on the cam job... do it right, do it once, get your home garage sorted out then you can build your beast in the garage at your own pace!
:favorites13:

OP
OP
Gilberts Garage

Gilberts Garage

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Gosh, when I read it from someone else, it just makes so much more sense. I'll just stick an oem cam in there and be done with it for now. Once the shop is finished and the dust settles, I'll have more time and money to play around with it. Thanks for stating the obvious hemihustlin lol

Wild one

Reaction score
Ram Year
14 Sport
Engine