Poll Oil Viscosity - Hemi 5.7l

What oil viscosity do you use in your Hemi 5.7l?

• Total voters

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

theclassic

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Add any negative or positive effects. MDS, ect.... If anyone is wondering, I know very little about oil.

NOV87

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
5w30 Quaker state Full synthetic every 5k miles. Engine runs a lot smoother vs 5w30.
No effect to MDS, as far as I can tell.

zogg

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018 Ram Express Quad Cab
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I’m glad to see this poll because I’m a tad confused

My new-to-me 2019 hemi Classic is due for an oil change

I’ve been using Royal Purple for a few years and have a bunch of 5w20 and 5w30 in the garage. I’m not sure which way to go, though I’m leaning toward the 5w30. I’ll be using a Royal purple filter.

My son lost the cam and lifters in his 2016 Hemi at 124,000 miles. He always had the dealer change oil and they used 5w20 conventional bulk oil.

So, I’m thinking that synthetic 5w30 may be a better choice…am I wrong??

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
I’m glad to see this poll because I’m a tad confused

My new-to-me 2019 hemi Classic is due for an oil change

I’ve been using Royal Purple for a few years and have a bunch of 5w20 and 5w30 in the garage. I’m not sure which way to go, though I’m leaning toward the 5w30. I’ll be using a Royal purple filter.

My son lost the cam and lifters in his 2016 Hemi at 124,000 miles. He always had the dealer change oil and they used 5w20 conventional bulk oil.

So, I’m thinking that synthetic 5w30 may be a better choice…am I wrong??