Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alphaobd Mileage Correction Notes

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by 1500ram12, Jan 16, 2020.

  1. Mark A Baguley

    Mark A Baguley Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Location:
    Canada
    Ram Year:
    2019
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Mileage hasn’t changed for me yet. I’ll keep trying
     
  2. sawz

    sawz Senior Member Military

    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Location:
    Aldie, VA
    Ram Year:
    2015 Ram 1500 QC
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Please tell me there is a way to determine if the mileage has been changed! I can see a potential here for unscrupulous individuals lowering their mileage for resale value.
     
  3. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    2,103
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2018
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    Dealers have the ability to read where mileage is stored (other than the cluster).

    There are plenty of 3rd party companies that offer mileage adjustment for our truck's especially 13+ from $75-300. So alfaobd is just another option. But alfaobd isn't guaranteed to work on a constant basis. It's been really hit or miss lately. Because it's designed to work with a majority of FCA vehicles and a lot share the same or similar parts when ever Alexey (the creator) makes adjustments for other models it seems to effect the rest. Seems mostly with mileage correction.

    This topic has been discussed plenty of times when it was first learned that he was adding the option.

    You can just buy a used cluster with less mileage and swap it in if you wanted.


    2018 2500 6.4L Hemi Tradesman
    1990 5.9L 12v Cummins W250
     
    Ricks Ram likes this.
  4. Mark A Baguley

    Mark A Baguley Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Location:
    Canada
    Ram Year:
    2019
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Truck: 2019 Classic 1500 5.7
    Trim: Tradesman
    Original Radio: 2019 Uconnect 4 8.4"
    Current radio: 2019 Uconnect 4 8.4"
    Cluster: 2016 Ram 1500
    Dongle: Obdlink MX +
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy S8
    AlphaOBD: 2.1.9.5
    Mileage: Error, not completed successfully, did not change mileage.
    Hours: No error (finally), completed successfully, changed lifetime engine and idle hours after many unsuccessful attempts
     
  5. MontyNC

    MontyNC Junior Member Military

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2020
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    Truck: 2014 Ram 1500
    Radio: ra2 5.0
    Old cluster: 3.5"
    New cluster: 7"
    Dongle OBDLink MX +
    Phone: Samsung S10
    Alfa obd: 2.1.9.6

    Millage/Vin/hours would not change.
    Found someone near me with version 2.1.7.6

    With 2167 I was able to successfully change the mileage and hours.

    milage was off by 1.4 though

    317 idle
    2690 drive
    3007 total

    Idle reset worked but after powering down and restart the idle went to 318 drive 2689 total stayed at 3007.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2020
  6. G56Cummins

    G56Cummins Junior Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2020
    Location:
    Pgh
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.7 Turba Deeesil
    Successful
    I have a 2017 Ram 2500. I was able to program a cluster from a 2018 w/ OBDLink MX and ALFAOBD v. 2.1.9.5. It took on the first try and no issue. Never displayed the "Continental" logo. At the time this was done, my fire tablet, OBDLink, and AlfaOBD were not up to date.


    Unsuccessful
    I went to program a cluster from a 2014 for my dad's 2014 and it will not program. I have updated ALFA to 2.1.9.6, I have updated the OBDLink, I have updated my Fire tablet. Would not program in my 2017. I then drove to my dads and installed in his 2014 with the same response. It displays the Continental logo and at that point I know its a waste of time. I even tried selecting "3.5 cluster," to see if that would do it and sadly it does not. What is more disappointing is that I have emailed Alexey twice now and no response yet, but maybe due to the holidays. I've read a couple of guys who got the windows version and that worked. I'm open to any solutions or things to try.
     
    MontyNC likes this.
  7. Mark A Baguley

    Mark A Baguley Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Location:
    Canada
    Ram Year:
    2019
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
     
  8. blue285k

    blue285k Junior Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.7
    At the risk of being long winded I'm running out of options myself on getting the mileage correction to take on my 2017 2500 SLT Diesel. The donor cluster came from 2015 eco diesel Laramie. I had started with the last release of android app and the obd link+. The only thing I could do successfully with my android app was change my TPMS (I had previous gotten my PIN) but could not change engine hours, or mileage. (even updated the MX+ firmware) I had emailed Alexey and he graciously responded and sent me a link for the windows version which allowed me to change the idle hours and life time hours but disappointedly I still haven't been able to correct the mileage. (tried several gyrations of the procedure and deviations cycle the key and what not.) I also tried the VIN update to the IPC and it was a strange experience to say the least. The VIN write procedure after a few moments responded procedure failed and then the IPC appeared to just lock-up on the continental splash screen for several minutes (Even with the key off) then as I'm thinking I just made a brick out of my IPC finally powers off. The good news is the IPC powers back up and appears fine and when I look at the log it indicates it took my VIN. As I stated in my opening I can't get the mileage to update with either the android or windows version. Open for suggestions

    Thanks
     
  9. BigHornGuy

    BigHornGuy Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    99
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7l
    I didn't see this thread before but lately I've been having issues with the mileage correction and the engine hours, also the vin write keeps telling me procedure failed, all that's changed from my end is that I also downloaded the app to my tablet, but didn't even get to use it since I don't carry the tablet everywhere like my phone.

    Phone: Note 8
    Obdlink Mx+
    2014 big horn has had three different 2014 premium clusters, a 2018 and a 2013. No issues whatsoever.

    Also:

    2015 Express > 2014 7" cluster, took right away, even changed language no issues.

    2018 Express > 2018 7" cluster but this one I programmed on my truck. Splash screen changed once installed on the 2018, weird.

    2015 Express > 2014 7" cluster no issues whatsoever.

    2014 Bighorn > 2015 7" cluster no issues.

    2015 Bighorn > 2016 7" cluster no issues

    2015 Express > 2017 7" cluster no issues, this one was also programmed in my truck but everything worked perfectly once installed on the Express, even splash screen.

    2018 Tradesman > 2014 7" cluster, tried with the bypass module, everything connected just the same but the mileage correction wouldn't take, same with hours and vin. Ended up programming in my truck only after multiple attempts was the cluster finally programmed.

    Tip for 2018+ Rams, get the bypass harness, the module has to go behind radio and it is not an easy to reach spot :D

    2017 2500 Tradesman > 2014 7" ecodiesel cluster, only took mileage after selecting the 3.5" option when correcting odometer. Hours would not take, played around with the interface request timeout times and would not make any difference. Def Gauge would not read accurately, at all.

    Same 2017 2500 Tradesman > 2015 7" ecodiesel cluster, same thing as with the 2014 one. But Def gauge worked correctly.

    On alfaobd I've also done:

    LED high beams
    LED low beams
    led fog lights
    led reverse lights
    Side mirrors signal lights
    puddle lights
    Global window down
    Power folding mirrors present
    Power folding door modules present
    Side mirrors tilt in reverse
    Disabled park assist system

    I may be forgetting something, but that's all I remember at the time of this post :D

    From what I read here I do notice the 2017+ years being the ones getting more issues with lower year clusters, specially the 2 above this post being 2017 2500 diesels, I know the feeling guys lol

    Ps. Sorry for the long ass post haha
     

Share This Page