Muffler options

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

trainthemane7

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hey all,

I’m looking at options to update my stock exhaust on my 2020 Classic.
I don’t want to spend on a full catback system and want to minimize drone but id love a good deep, guttural note at idle and when I get on it.
I was told it’s best to keep the resonators to help with drone but I want that big 2.5 ft factory muffler off to open it up. I’m considering performance muffler from Magnaflow or Carven, or just removing the muffler with a direct replacement Y pipe.
Thoughts?

Mb7640

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I have a flowmaster outlaw direct replacement with no resonators. Has very little drone. it sounds pretty good.

Treburkulosis

Your High End Detailer
TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Lonestar Edition converted over to a Sport
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Did you keep your resonators?

did you keep your resonators?
No all it has is the cats. No drone with the MDS off, but I found even with the stock muffler on and MDS on it had a drone. If you absolutely want a muffler I always had great luck with flowmaster. I ran them for 25 years.

Treburkulosis

Your High End Detailer
TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Lonestar Edition converted over to a Sport
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Its loud for sure, but I love the way it sounds.

Hemi395

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I've had a Magnaflow 24 (Mufflex) and Solo direct fit mufflers on my truck and they both droned while towing.

The best one I've found that doesn't get annoying with daily driving and towing is the K&N direct fit muffler. Theres a whole thread about it on here. 303 stainless too.

RamRod37

2014 Ram 2500 HD 5.7 Hemi
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi