Oil temp waaaay to high

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gone

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
need a lil help Pls... I have 18 ram 5.7l my engine oil is always higher than coolant and trans oil yesterday i did a lil wot it shot up to 240deg.. cruising normal rpm stays at around 220-225deg

Its hot out here already deleted the louvers infront of the rad and deleted the thermostat..

Is there another thermostat somewhere????

Hookedup87

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Don’t quote me because I’m no expert by any means, but I think you can do more harm than good by completely removing the thermostat. Dropping it down to a 180 maybe, but deleting it altogether, not sure I would do that

crazykid1994

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Your engine oil is heated at startup by a oil to water cooler. It is located above the oil filter. It is also beneficial because it helps to cool the oil when the truck is under load. There are no thermostats on the oil. You’re better off installing a 180° or 190° thermostat in for your engine coolant or you can run into issues cooling from your coolant moving to fast through the engine from deleting your thermostat. You could add an oil cooler to the vehicle as well. I’m running an oil filter relocation kit and it dropped my oil temps around 6° under normal driving and that’s without a cooler. My oil runs around 190° and I’m running a 190° tstat.

Elevated 2013

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Do not delete the coolant thermostat as that’s leaving you open to other issues. If your oil is running at 240, what is your coolant temperature? If it’s that high, then you might have a clog in your cooling system. That temperature is too high. Male sure you don’t have anything blocking the air in the radiator fins keeping it from cooling the coolant down.

NOV87

Reaction score
Ram Year